Ah love mah Salina, but ah luuuuuuurv mah Forecast

 

modified forecast

(also luuv me some gray. Can gray be my favorite color, and is it presumptuous to admit that I really want “grey” to be my favorite color?)

modified forecast

“why so serious? you like it!”

This sweater was a blast to make. It all started when I saw this forecast in progress and loved the longer ribbing on the sleeves (and I happen to be fond of Carrioke’s finished product, as well!). First of all, it is a fun pattern and easily knit while reading. The best thing, however, was that I was making decisions the entire time and making it do exactly what I didn’t know I wanted it to do. Every step of the way I was choosing length or braid or something, and each decision influenced the next one to make it a sweater that I think I will feel good about wearing.

specs:

pattern: Stephanie Japel‘s “Forecast

yarn: Lionbrand “Wool-Ease” (I know, but this whole sweater cost less than $10! And the color was perfect. The only downside is that I can’t block the ribs to be a little less ribby.)

modifications: Let’s see… I started the collar on size 3 needles and the smallest size (loose knitter!). I switched to a size 5 for the body, but just kept working the increases until it was long enough to meet for sleeves (which was between the numbers for a medium and large !?). I obviously skipped the bobbles and just did some kind of braiding. I’m sure there is a better version in a pattern book somewhere, but this is what I came up with while on spring break and away from all of my resources. Instead of the slipped stitch at each edge, I did 2 sts. in garter, thinking I’d add a zipper because I didn’t really go for the button band, even though it really worked on some versions. By the time I got below the bustline, however, I was really digging the neckline as it was. I joined and worked the rib in the round on size 4 needles to an obviously longer sweater. The sleeves are a similar story: I simply worked the rib from the elbow on size 3 needles and decreased a few stitches along the way.

ETA: Finally, a pic that doesn’t require retouching (i.e., cropping off my head)!

 

6 comments so far

  1. laura on

    Ooooh! That is so pretty! When I saw Forecast in Knitty, I was not tempted to knit it at all. But as I see the FOs (sans bobbles, especially), I am rethinking my initial lack of enthusiasm.

    Thanks too for the super-nice comment you left on my blog. :)

  2. domesticat on

    Great fit! It looks fantastic on you! I love this version.

  3. kara on

    I love this modification. The v-neck versus cardi…genius! So darling. It looks like a perfect fit.

  4. Nubiancraftster on

    Ok…I have to admit that I have never really liked the forecast sweater. Bobbles make me feel like I have broken out into chickenpocks. So when I saw you modifications, i got heart palpitations. I want it!! I love what you did. It is so much better then I ever thought this sweater could be. You did a wonderful job. I will have to remember you modifications because that is GORGEOUS.

  5. Octopus Knits on

    I love your modifications — it’s such a different sweater, and beautiful!

  6. Siga on

    Wow! I want one like this as well. I’m also in the “no bobbles” camp – you made great mods!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

