TAMDSE

It’s not too late to blog about 2008’s Third Annual Mother-Daughter Sewing Extravanganza, is it? Good! I hope you enjoy it.

A brief history of the MDSE, because if you know my mother and me, it’s not like either of us has an ounce of sentiment in us (to necessitate a cheesy excuse to spend time together) or an unwillingness to dally in fine crafting (to necessitate an excuse to make something). Well, here it is. The never-before-revealed, true confession as to why the MDSE exists: I invented this occasion so my super-sewer mom would help me make a Weekender Bag. There, my crime is exposed for all the world to see. I convinced my mother that she wanted to make one so she would help me make one (I let the fact that it really took extremely little effort to accomplish that task assuage my guilt-ridden soul a small bit, thank you). The 2007 project was the Kimono wrap and pajama pants set from Amy Bulter’s book In Stitches.

This year we went more for my mom’s flavor: quilts. We went to her favorite fabric shop, Miller’s Dry Goods in Charm, Ohio, with one of my best friends (Charm is totally worth the effort if you have ever wanted to a) see some real Amish country, and b) buy some good fabric or good boots. A strange combination? Perhaps! But Miller’s is a great fabric store–last weekend at the annual clearance sale I bought $50 worth of heavy cotton fabric for $7, and they always have a good and modern selection–and there is a boot shop there that has really high quality merchandise. One of the (Amish) employees was wearing ostrich skin boots the last time I was there! And I think there is a little restaurant or something in Charm, but I’ve never eaten there. I’d recommend heading back to 39 to find Walnut Creek Cheese for lunch and ice cream. Diversion complete.)

Mom already had her fabric, so she was looking for fabric to make a bag and I was shopping for my quilt fabric. My friend Jess said she was just coming along for fun, but she ended up buying fabric for her first quilt and for a bag. Note to this point she had been a fine sewer but never really had an interest in quilting. We are such a disease! We ended up not working on piecing the quilts together, but I did get to use my mom’s quilting machine set-up for the quilting part. Very cool. Note that Jess and my mom both had their quilts pieced before me, and mine was the simplest of them all. I need to hound Jess for some pictures of her quilt to make this story complete! I’ll get on that.

Here’s Mom’s, although as always the colors are a bit off:

And here’s mine:

Obviously she is much more talented, dedicated, driven, and did I say talented than me.  I was not so much into the whole piecing thing. ;) Mine is just 9 7-inch strips of c.45 inch fabric, bound with a patterned brown. This quilt was intended for my office (i.e., “the orange room”), and we had so much fun picking out the fabrics together. Orange is always a challenge!

close-up of the stitching. I call this particular stitch pattern “the only thing I could figure out how to make the thing do without cursing.” Elegant, yes?

and speaking of elegant…
5 comments so far

  1. k on

    Wow, that is a lovely shot to finish the post! But the quilts look great – I want my own MDSE!

  2. Kara on

    I love that you invented a whole event for that Weekender Bag. That pattern makes a person do crazy things. Heck, I bought it and I don’t even sew!

    I LOVE your quilts. The fabric you chose is amazing. Fabulous taste as usual.

  3. Erin on

    Gorgeous. I have been contimplating quilting lately which I NEVER thought I would want to try. Thanks for the inspiriation.

  4. Jodi on

    I love your quilt! All those warm, rich colors. Oh cats, always big on dignity.

  5. peacockchic on

    I love both of the quilts!! and “the only thing I could figure out how to make the thing do without cursing” looks great too :O)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

