Archive for July 16th, 2007|Daily archive page

Guess what? More socks!

Many of you are probably already aware of the article in Knitty about knitting socks for diabetics. I was shocked to learn that the only pair of socks I have ever made for my grandma…

DSC03122.JPG

DSC03194.JPG

(whoops! made a matching pair for me too)

…was the absolute worst kind she could have, being cotton and patterned, so I set out to rectify the situation. I found this yarn at Hobby Lobby–an acrylic that is ridiculously soft, mostly white as per her request, and thankfully not squeaky at all. I think the ankle length will be easier for her to pull on and off, and also still provide a cushion in tennis shoes.

Gma's socks

 

specs: yarn- Baby Bee Sweet Delight Prints in “Puppy,” needles- size 0, toe-up CO 10 sts, inc. to 52. Wendy’s gusset & heel, picot edging.

Gma's ankle socks

 

For the record, that on-the-needles sock is how long the fifth Harry Potter movie is. My own magical powers came in the form of casting on in the dark and not dropping any needles or stitches.

