Guess what? More socks!

Many of you are probably already aware of the article in Knitty about knitting socks for diabetics. I was shocked to learn that the only pair of socks I have ever made for my grandma…

DSC03122.JPG

DSC03194.JPG

(whoops! made a matching pair for me too)

…was the absolute worst kind she could have, being cotton and patterned, so I set out to rectify the situation. I found this yarn at Hobby Lobby–an acrylic that is ridiculously soft, mostly white as per her request, and thankfully not squeaky at all. I think the ankle length will be easier for her to pull on and off, and also still provide a cushion in tennis shoes.

Gma's socks

 

specs: yarn- Baby Bee Sweet Delight Prints in “Puppy,” needles- size 0, toe-up CO 10 sts, inc. to 52. Wendy’s gusset & heel, picot edging.

Gma's ankle socks

 

For the record, that on-the-needles sock is how long the fifth Harry Potter movie is. My own magical powers came in the form of casting on in the dark and not dropping any needles or stitches.

3 comments so far

  1. kara on

    Oh, how perfect! She will love them. And I can’t believe how fast you knit. You are a machine!

  2. carla on

    Pretty socks! I’m definitely going to have to try that gusseted heel for toe-up socks. Too bad I had already knit past the heel for my swirl socks when you posted the update, but I’m doing those in fingering-weight over 68 stitches, so it’s probably not wise to try to change a pattern for a new technique anyway. I have some squishy DK Cider Moon waiting in the wings, however.

  3. yarnzombie on

    I actually didn’t see that article in Knitty (not sure how I missed it), but thanks for pointing it out to me. My dad’s diabetic, and any info about how to make better socks for him is welcome, especially since the feedback I get from him is uniformly positive, so I’m not sure if he’s being honest with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

