Listen, my knitters, and you shall hear…

…Of socks that vanished for o’er a year
‘Twas the mid of the summer, the heat of July
Hardly a sock was thought alive
that would match the embossed leaves that you see here*

This is a chilling true story, so you might want to make sure that all of your handknit socks are safe and close by you before I begin. Last summer one day whilst slaving over the laundry I noticed that I was missing one of my newly-finished, hardly worn embossed leaves socks (they’re red because they are embossed autumn leaves, people! Cut me some slack! 😉 actually at the time I didn’t have a sock yarn stash–now that’s scary!). Ah, but handmade socks don’t go missing, do they? Not after all the time and energy and love invested in them. Surely, I thought, it will turn up in the next load or two.

Well now we wouldn’t be having our little chat if it had, would we? I searched the dryer innards as deep as I dared, from the inside through the lint trap and then outside through the vent. I searched under furniture and in sleeves and pant legs and sheets and towels. I whined profusely. Six months later, I returned the leftover yarn to the “to-do” pile, thinking that my intentions of replacing the missing sock would lure it out of hiding. I even apologized for being disappointed with the wiry K’picks Essentials yarn I used to make them.

Then

this very afternoon

upon arriving home from school

I noticed a reddish blur right beside my bed. Chiding myself for leaving laundry on the floor again, I never would have suspected that my hand would soon be holding the long-lost sock. After confirming that it was indeed the missing sock and not its well-behaved sibling, I was simultaneously jubilant and downright flabbergasted.

Now I want to know: how did a sock that was missing for a whole year end up sitting nonchalantly a mere yard from my sock drawer? What do you think happened to my sock in the year it was gone? Was it traveling as a stowaway with the Harlot? gracing one size 7 foot of a sock bandit? jealously building an army to take on the Cider Moon stash?

Robert Stack, now here’s an unsolved mystery for you!

embossed leaves

*Consider yourself lucky I chose Longfellow and not Peaches and Herb (?!?):

“Reunited and it feels so good!
Reunited ’cause we understood
There’s one perfect fit
And, sugar, this one is it
We both are so excited
‘Cause we’re reunited, hey, hey”

Oops, looks like I just did it anyway! Sorry, heh heh heh.

 

PS My only clue is that there are chew marks the piano bench and a page torn out of one of my theory books this week. Do you think some furry felon was stashing my sock to be returned at a moment when he needed to get back into his mummy’s good graces? Me too.

Coke and Vince

3 comments so far

  1. Barb on

    Hey Ursula,
    I love that story about the socks. The reuniting song I could here you singing. Thanks for putting a smile on my face. I’m the Barb that works at Knitters Mercantile. I do not read very many blogs but I love yours.
    Barb

  2. Erin on

    So glad you and your sock are reunited. Great news. 🙂

  3. Karen in Toledo on

    Hooray for found socks! I sent you an email. 🙂


Leave a Reply

