a display of group effort (and a little diva ‘tude, sorry about that)

A few weeks ago, I happened to mention in an email to Knitspot Anne that I loved her Japanese Feather Stole and that I was trying very hard to resist its siren call because I really didn’t have time to knit it. She countered (very politely, I might add) that it was a simple lace pattern in fingering weight yarn and basically I didn’t have a leg to stand on. And part of the pattern sales go to charity.

Then I went in a flying trip to my LYS in a desperate search for yarn. It was a new experience for me. Usually I know what I want when I go in (or just buy sock yarn), but my dress and I had a great time combing the store for potential yarns (shout out to Barb, not only made it lots of fun, but also braved the bling aisle and was wholly in agreement that the $30 yarn looked just as good as the $60 yarn!).

All I have to say is thank goodness for enablers.

japanese feather stole

What do you mean, you don’t come here for my diva ‘tude?

japanese feather stole

I feel very very wrong cropping my husband out of pictures. But alas, I didn’t want anything to distract from the stole, and he did look very very cute in his top hat & tux!

japanese feather stole

specs: pattern- knitspot’s Japanese feather stole; yarn- 2 sk. Twisted Sisters Zazu in Charcoal; needles- K’picks options size 5

Just how much did I love knitting and wearing this stole? Well, I’ve since cast on for the scarf version with some merino-tencel handspun!

11 comments so far

  1. anne on

    oh SULA!! it’s trés fabulous! divatude inDEED!

  2. kara on

    Va va va voom! She’s gorgeous and so is the shawl. 😉

  3. julieanne on

    If I was a boy, I’d so date you (if, you know, you weren’t all married and such). =P Nice job on the stole! And where were y’all off to all fancied up like that?

  4. k on

    Really pretty. Not quite sure of the colour – dark teal or is it just black and I can’t tell. Either way, looks beautiful with your dress.

  5. Risa on

    Wow! It looks great! Awesome work 🙂

  6. kelp! on

    So, so pretty! I saw that stitch pattern in a Barbara Walker book recently and I love it so.

  7. PCR on

    It’s gorgeous!

  8. Erin on

    Dang lady, you look awesome! Love the stole and the whole look.

  9. gerald on

    You look wonderful in that stole! Well done!

  10. Nubiancraftster on

    Very Chic! Love the color. You worked it girl! 🙂

  11. Peggy on

    It is elegant and truly beautiful.


Leave a Reply

