Let the gifting begin!

First off, I love Christmas. Consider yourself warned.

DSC05524.JPG

DSC05527.JPG

I have a friend, of the sort that will know me for the rest of our days. I am so thankful for her–friends since kindergarten, the most fun, the best listener, the most wise, the most caring, my Mary Kay lady, need I go on? She mentioned she needed gloves, and I was thrilled to have the chance to do something for her (Then she accidentally expressed an interest in learning to knit. I’m sure the next thing she remembers is getting out from the yarn I’d piled around her with four or five rows of a scarf on the needles…).

 

DSC05585.JPG

A swirl, anyone? I didn’t intend to do it, but when I got to the end of the ribbing I knew I had to put a little something extra into these, because honestly? My friend just sparkles. And she mentioned that she, like me, feels like she looks awful in hats, so as a bonus I was happy to try this Drops design for her. Can’t wait to see how it looks, but thus far the pattern is highly recommended!

(specs: stashed Lion brand Wool Ease in seafoam, size 4 Bryspun DPNs, gloves= no pattern, ear warmer= see link)

 

DSC05572.JPG

DSC05569.JPG

 

DSC05581.JPG

 

DSC05588.JPG

Merry Christmas to Jess, and to all people whose very presence makes you feel like the best version of yourself!

10 comments so far

  1. k on

    Glad to have a little update from you – great projects which I’m sure will be a well-received gift!

  2. Lauren on

    What a nice touch on those gloves! Lucky friend.

  3. Dave on

    Very nice, and the swirl adds just the right touch of pizzazz!!

  4. Julie on

    Those are great gloves! That travelling diagonal is such a great detail without being fussy. Good job! And the headband is a great hat alternative.

  5. Stella on

    Nice work! That swirl really is just the thing for those gloves.

  6. Kara on

    What a perfectly perfect gift for your darling friend. The swirl does finish those gloves off perfectly.

  7. Leah on

    I love the swirl detail! What a lucky friend you have! 🙂

  8. octopusknits on

    So pretty! I love the gloves and the headband, and I know your friend will, too.

  9. Jo on

    I just love the swirl, I really need to knit the swirl socks to get to grips with the technique, then more gloves…’ooop be doop I want to knit swirls tooo woo ooh oop de doop de doo doo'( to the tune I wanna be like you from Jungle Book) sorry I was humming it to myself, and it just fitted in with the words!

  10. bliggi.com on

    Let the gifting begin!

    Let the gifting begin!,First off, I love Christmas. Consider yourself warned.I have a friend, of the sort that will know me for the rest of our days. I am so thankful for her-friends since kindergarten, the most fun, the best listener, the most wise, t…


Leave a Reply

