Finally! It’s in “The Bag.”

Happy New Year’s! To celebrate, y’all (in honor of my southern sisters-in-law, soon-to-be bag recipients) a longtime project is finally done!
DSC05863.JPG

DSC05864.JPG

specs: Pattern- “The Bag” from No Sheep for You; yarn- Hempathy; needles- size 3; time invested- LOTS! I started these in July, and finished the first two bags during my Latin class (ahem!). The third was a pre-Thanksgiving effort, I think, and the handles were done here and there between Thanksgiving and Christmas. Lining done at Christmas, and they’ll be gifted at New Year’s!

 

I changed the handles- I wanted to keep them knitted, so I just knit lengths of St st. and let them curl. Sturdy, yet comfortable and with just a bit of give.

DSC05869.JPG

DSC05871.JPG

DSC05868.JPG

The lining fabrics and materials are courtesy of my mom’s amazing (free–for her and me!) fabric stash. I used iron-on interfacing on the lining, and a strip of matting on the bottom for stability, and they are rather sturdy. I ended up just folding down the top and sewing it on the machine, then hand-stitching the provisional stitches in a little bit of a decorative fashion.

DSC05878.JPG

DSC05884.JPG

DSC05882.JPG

(Ok, ok, you got me. Even though I justified the time and expense of making these bags as Christmas presents, the middle one is MINE!)

DSC05875.JPG

10 comments so far

  1. Kara on

    Oh, now those are just so cute! And they look so fab all in a row like that. Too bad they can’t always travel together.

    Amazing job!

  2. nubiancraftster on

    OMG!!! Wow those are so beautiful. I can’t decide on which one is better because they are all great! I love the lining in the blue one and the green one is a close second only. You are the best gift giver ever in my book

    Great job!!

  3. Leah on

    Well done! Those bags are so lovely, esp. the lining! You must really love your SIL’s! 🙂

  4. Julie on

    They look amazing! Wow, you can tell you put a lot of work into them, they are finished SO well!

  5. lauragayle on

    BEAUTIFUL! Thanks for sharing your FOs with us!

  6. carla on

    They’re all fantastic!

  7. Erin on

    Happy New Years! All of your bags look so fun. What a great gift–I am sure they loved them.

  8. Sourire11 on

    Wow. Those are so adorable!!! Well worth all of your effort – I especially like the detail where you sewed in the lining. Stuff like that just makes a project.

  9. octopusknits on

    Wow! Those bags (and all your other gift knits) are lovely!

  10. bliggi.com on

    Finally! It’s in “The Bag.”

    Finally! It’s in “The Bag.”,Happy New Year’s! To celebrate, y’all (in honor of my southern sisters-in-law, soon-to-be bag recipients) a longtime project is finally done!specs: Pattern- “The Bag” from No Sheep for You; yarn- Hempathy; needles- si…


Leave a Reply

