If I had a hammer…

 

DSC05954.JPG

This is kaleidoscope (at least inspired by kaleidoscope, you know how it goes). It came about as a fortuitous coincidence of pattern publication and yarn acquisition. Said yarn–Aracuania Ranco Multi–was originally intended to be a wrap of some sort, but if we all know how readily I am inclined to flights of fancy.

 

The even-more-fun part: Somewhere along the way of knitting this I got it in my head that it would only work with little purly snaps. I lined the hole-less button bands with ribbon first, which I think would could have been better executed on a machine with double feeds because it stretched out the knitting, leading to the dreaded bulging of the button bands.

DSC05910.JPG

ribbon lining

(Oh, and lessons learned for next time: I should have done the button bands in vertical rib to hide the stitching, readily apparent in the picture below but not enough to upset my general state of existence.)

DSC05922.JPG
“All purpose” — no joke! This spool served to cushion the hammer strokes. Kudos to the snap manufacturers for making it work without buying additional tools!

The snaps were quite simple and fun. Two parts and a few hammer blows for each side, and I’m wearing it!

DSC05920.JPG

This little sweater’s got some weirdness going on, what with the ribbon and loose gauge, but happily upon its first wearing the ribbon relaxed a bit–or perhaps I did because it did not bother me in the least.

 

DSC05951.JPG


16 comments so far

  1. Stella on

    So pretty! I love the length of the sleeves, and the pearly snaps are just the thing. The neckline looks great on you, too.

  2. yarnzombie on

    The sweater is awesome, and made even more so by the fact that you needed a hammer to help assemble it. 🙂

  3. Julie on

    Absolutely stunning, like everything you do!! glad you solved your button problem, more or less- you can’t tell anything’s wrong from the photos.

  4. girlwhoknits on

    I don’t see any weirdness at all. It is absolutely lovely.

  5. k on

    Really cute – very flattering fit! I always find putting snaps in quite satisfying (or maybe i just like hammering).

  6. Mintyfresh on

    It fits you perfectly! Snaps–what a great idea.

  7. Kara on

    You know, I am usually not a variegated yarn person, but this cardi is just too cute! I love how it fits on you. So darling. And i think the snaps was a perfect idea. I am going to have to keep that in mind for the future.

  8. Jill P. on

    I never thought of using snaps before… how clever! They look soooo purty! Now I’m off to find something I can knit that needs snaps!

  9. gerald on

    that’s really a lovely sweater.

  10. Lolly on

    you make such flattering pieces! this is truly beautiful, and fits you so well. great yarn and the snaps are a great touch 🙂

  11. Octopus Knits on

    Beautiful! Despite the issues you mention, I think it’s really lovely, and the ribbon you chose to line the button (um, snap) bands with works wonderfully. I will definitely have to consider using snaps in the future!

  12. peacockchic on

    super SUPER cute. I love the whole idea! Gotta implement those purly snap somehow into my knitting. Hmmmm…

  13. margene on

    It’s fabulous! Love the fit and the snaps are a perfect fit.

  14. Tricia on

    Very cute sweater! Now that I’ve gotten my winter sweater done I’m going to start something Springy like that! -Tricia

  15. Elinor on

    I’m so impressed that you took a hammer and snaps to your knitting. It looks wonderful – clearly, that was the best thing to do!!!

  16. […] Anyway, we’re meeting up tomorrow to celebrate our birthdays. She’s 362 (or 363, depending on the year) days older than me, so we always have to make a big deal about the three days a year when we’re the same age. She got a dressform for her birthday so I thought it only appropriate that she have a little wristlet pin cushion, based off of this pin cushion tutorial. Yes, that fabric did serve me well! The pattern calls for velcro, but around here “making” usually means “making do,” so I used a snap leftover from my Rancolidoscope. […]


Leave a Reply

