Archive for April 4th, 2008|Daily archive page

Meet Otis

I bet you’ve never seen one of these before! It’s this great pattern called Clapotis! You should try it.

DSC06502.JPG

Ok, jokes aside, this really is a great pattern for crazy yarns like these that I dyed a little while back. Just take a gander at the pre-block back.

DSC06456.JPG

I didn’t plan it when I dyed the yarn, but it ended being a great fit for this project, and for the intended recipient. I’d been stirring the idea of making something for a friend of mine who’s recently experienced a few life-altering events and when I started knitting this, I knew the cheer and vitality of the project were perfect for her. We are kindred spirits in many ways, but there are other things that will always keep us a little distant (mostly those professional things that are unfortunate only in cases like these). So I’ve been hesitant to knit for her. You never know how people will respond to a gift like that, and I dread the thought of forcing someone to accept something they feel obligated to take.

DSC06485.JPG

That being said, her reaction was amazing. We were standing at the bus stop talking, and before her bus came I slipped her the bag. Before she even looked inside she said, “But I’ve never done anything for you!” That is so far the opposite of true I just laughed.

DSC06492.JPG

Anyway, she cried when she saw it. There aren’t enough stitches in the world for people like that.

DSC06494.JPG

And just so you don’t think I’ve gone all soft on you, here is oblivi-Vince, who apparently didn’t realize that he was wearing the evidence that he’d been into my cut-straw stitch markers (did you need more evidence that I’m rather tight-fisted? Actually they’re great)…

DSC06466.JPG

DSC06464.JPG

DSC06462.JPG

And a teaser! My Shocking! skirt, the colors of which are so shocking I’m making you wait for the debut. Anybody got any elastic lying around

DSC06524_2.JPG

edited 4/6 for clarity