Re-entry

Hello, and thank you for coming back! I am humbled by your patience, and please do accept my apologies if my absence somehow upset the equilibrium that is your world.

I decided that really, the only way I could make any kind of half-graceful re-entry into the ‘sphere was to finally write up a pattern I’d been sitting on for a while.

Grandma's blanket

Actually, it is my grandma who has been sitting on this one, because the pattern is for a blanket I made for her. (Now that I think about it, my grandma probably hasn’t been sitting on it either, because she loves to get handmade things from me but then squirrels them away as if they are too precious for use. Or maybe she hates them, I don’t rightly know! But I continue to produce, and she continues to squirrel).

I liked about this blanket enough to write it up for you all because it is very simple in execution–most of you have probably already figured it out just by looking at the pictures–but it can be graphic and striking. I chose sweet Grandma colors in Homespun, but I am really hoping that someone will do some cool Noro combinations, or some other long repeat color changes, or some wildly wonderful solids.

The pictures are not great. As it happens around these parts, the finishing and the gifting took place with uncomfortably close proximity, which means that yet again I did not get a decent picture of the thing. Combined with Grandma’s FO-squirreling (see above), this is probably the only exposure to the world the poor blanket will ever get.

In that regard, one of the reasons I haven’t been blogging for the past several months is that I didn’t take the time to get good pictures of my knits (and I haven’t been knitting a whole lot, but we’ll pretend it is the picture thing). I know some of you are talented photographers, and can’t understand how it might not be worth the time I was trying to put into my not-great photos before, but I have come to the realization that if I’m going to post, the pictures will have to be whatever I snap on the way out the door. I feel a little bit bad about it, but then I just pop over to the next blog (you know who you are, yarnzombieTeamKnitPeacockChicWestCoastCreative) and realize that there are plenty of good pictures out there for those who desire them. You come here for…hmm, I’ll have to get back to you on that one! But it is good to see you around these parts again (and to be almost done with the life-eating exam that kept me away!).

Diamond blanket pattern for you! (pdf)

Grandma's blanket

Grandma's blanket

6 comments so far

  1. carla on

    Glad to have you back! The blanket is beautiful.

  2. k on

    That blanket is very cool – I can see many possibilities with something like Noro – thanks for the pattern! And great to “see” you again – I like having you around!

  3. Siga on

    Glad to see you back & I think your pics are nice. πŸ˜‰

  4. Julie on

    Welcome back!! Wow, that pattern is gorgeous!! Thanks so much for sharing the pattern.

  5. Kara on

    Cannot tell you how much I love this! You are so darling. I am so glad you are back and blogging.

  6. Megan on

    I love this pattern! I’ve just started it and hopefully will fulfill your wish for “wildly wonderful solids”! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

