Now with real content!

I’ve intimated before that I enjoy deadline knitting, and this year is no exception. This year I added an extra twist: I decided to knit-bomb my brother and sister-in-law.

After last year’s rather pathetic request for socks for Christmas, the ammo for the first attack seemed obvious (Lion Brand Simple Stripes on the left for her, and Trekking Natura on the right for him):

DSC07155.JPG

And then, it seemed logical to instensify the strike with a personal wintertime favorite, the Handknit Holiday Log Cabin socks. (These are the fourth and fifth times I’ve made this pattern.)

DSC07143.JPG

But I’ve read The Art of War. I know I can’t depend on one strategy alone. So next I moved to scarves. This move was inevitable, given the shameful pilled state of the last scarf I made for my bro. His is on the left, made from Cascade 128, and hers is Arcuania Nature Cotton. You’ve heard this before, but it looks much better in real life. The colors are richer, and the plain garter texture looks like pebbles in the bottom of a stream (sorry, didn’t mean to go all poetic on you in the heat of battle).

DSC07149.JPG

The final stage took some thinking. I unvented a cabled hat for the bro–and was immediately commissioned for another by the DH.

DSC07158.JPG

Sad to say, there were casualties in the hat process. After an intital foray into hatting, I tried again to knit Veronik Avery’s Short Row Hat. This is the second time I’ve been about halfway done and not been able to stomach it. Why? It’s a great pattern, but I can only conclude it requires the absolute perfect yarn, and this ain’t it. But I ended up doing a simple brioche stitch hat (from Weekend Knitting, I think? Thank you, Melanie Falick!) and I’m quite pleased with the result. And, as you might guess from my last post, it was way too much fun to knit.

(The yarns are leftover Rowan Yorkshire Tweed and Ella Rae Jaspe. The boy hat is also from Cascade 128).

DSC07136.JPG

DSC07164.JPG

DSC07166.JPG

DSC07173.JPG

Let the twelve days of Christmas begin–my knitting’s in the mail!




3 comments so far

  1. Siga on

    Wow! This is a true knit-bombing, I must say.

  2. Erin on

    That has to feel good. All your projects will be loved I am sure.

  3. Jodi on

    Holy cow, you’ve been knitting up a storm! I love the log cabin socks in particular. So warm and cozy.


Leave a Reply

