What I’ve been up to

More travel! If I were reading my blog I would begin to think I lived a rather charmed life. And I would be right in many regards, although the past year has been quite exceptional in the amount of the world I’ve seen. Not only did I get to fulfill a lifelong dream of seeing Switzerland (and Ireland), but I also finally got to go to New England. Ok, who am I kidding? I’m in Maine right now!

And last week I was in New Hampshire and Vermont. I am thrilled to say that they were both as beautiful as I’d always hoped. I have never before felt as immediately comfortable in a town as I did when I was in Hanover, NH. Although I have spent the last eight years in cities, I remain devoted to the country and found New England to be an enchanting mix of both. This circumstance is especially fortunate, given the reason for our trip was for job interviews of a sort for DH.

DSC07215.JPGview from the hotel room in Lebanon, NH

DSC07247.JPG

on the road between Hanover, NH, and Burlington, VT

From holidays 2008

From holidays 2008
From holidays 2008
From holidays 2008

more Burlington, for good measure

Then there is the fact that the 14 inches of snow that dumped on Vermont while we were there confirmed to me that my decision to become a knitter was a prophetic move indeed (which reminds me: have I ever told you why I started knitting in the first place? DH loves football and loves watching football on TV, and I can’t even make it through a sitcom without a project. Makes me wonder about you all–what were the circumstances that led you down the dark alley of string addiction?).

DSC07261_2.JPG

I wanted to show you my proud display of knits–hat, scarf, gloves–in the holiday wonderland that is Church Street Market in Burlington, Vermont. I hope that you will please excuse the somewhat disturbing facelessness!

DSC07274_2.JPG

Another sighting in the wild–this Road to Golden was seen (on me) at the Skinny Pancake in Burlington, and that, my friends, is an apple and brie crepe. (I could describe it for you, but I hope you will get the chance to experience such goodness for yourself. Plus I am very full from another excellent meal at the moment and I don’t know that my senses can handle reliving this particular taste bud enchantment at the moment.)

Photo 137.jpg

These are the gloves I started for this trip. Thankfully one of the hotels had a sewing kit that included needles to sew in the ends, because these went much faster than I expected! The yarn is leftovers that I crock pot dyed with food coloring last winter. I’m quite pleased with these, except as you can see they are already heading down the path of pill after only a week of wear.

Photo 138.jpg

I do thoroughly enjoy commemorating days and events with knits like this. These will forever be my Vermont gloves. Does anyone else do this?

4 comments so far

  1. Jodi on

    What a great trip! New England is so beautiful, and just right for wearing handknits. I must admit I buy souvenir yarn rather than knit souvenir projects.

    Good luck to your DH with the job interview.

  2. Siga on

    Oh, you were so fortunate to get some snow!

  3. k on

    Those pics are great – I especially love the first on with the sun showing through the trees. Someday I would like to do my own trip to New England.

    I think I too am more likely to buy souvenir yarn than knit projects.

  4. Kara on

    It is like you were in Stars Hallow!


Leave a Reply

