‘Rithmetic for travelling knitters

(warning! the following post has not been approved for those who are easily angered by bad math!)

i + y(w) = h

the formula for determining happiness as a knitter, where i (inches of snow that fall during a New England snowstorm) plus y (yards of yarn) times the amount of said yarn that is w (wool) equals h (how happy you are to be a able to swaddle yourself and your loved ones in wool)

exhibit A: The Burlington gloves: completed in time for walking through fourteen inches of snow dumped on beautiful Vermont

gloves

M < a = ($) + 15

where M (mass of a yarn for a project) must be less than a (air) to equal avoiding $ (an additional fine for heavy luggage) in addition to 15 (the airlines’ charge to check bags)

note: also related is M < a = P, where M (mass of a yarn for a project) must be less than a (air) to equal avoiding P (shoulder pain from carrying everything in carry-on instead)

note: see also c α e^-1, where c (complexity of a pattern) is  inversely proportional to the amount of e (elbow room) you have to view the pattern and execute the stitches in coach seating

exhibit b, the New Haven Mohair Cowl Pullover (rav link). Squishy yarn to fit in any  suitcase crevice, miles of St st, only one set of circular needles: this one was a perfect travel knit! It saw me through eight airplanes, two trains, and four automobiles.

cowl

cowl

x +1s

The formula for determining how many knitting projects to pack, where x = the amount of knitting that could optimistically be completed if a major storm should hit and the entirety of the trip ends up being spent at the airport and you have to knit to stay awake the entire time to guard your possessions, and 1s = enough yarn for an extra pair of socks.

exhibit c: the Boston Selbu Modern–a great pattern for all you slouch- and semi-slouch lovers out there! Oh, and because DH will want me to tell you this part even though I haven’t figured out how to add this to the equation: add to this one the number of times you’ll be hit on by a straight woman in front of your husband (after she asks  him that you’re his wife) because of this hat! Hey, lady outside the Pub at the Hub in Boston, don’t get me wrong I was  flattered but I’ll give up the hat before I give up the man!! 🙂

selbu 2

selbu

(Oh, and for Jodi I threw on my SIL’s Green Gable one more time to show you all I fixed the collar!! Contrary to the view from this fresh-off-the-needles shot, it does lay much better now.)

and finally,

0C= b-(10/s)

zero! equals how much control (C) you have in the face of b (beautiful hand-dyed yarn) for a ridiculously low price (10 dollars / skein) as you accidentally forget that you weren’t going to buy any souvenir yarn and blow 30 bucks on this gorgeous laceweight from Tess yarns in Maine.

I had to laugh at how many of you commented that souvenir yarn was more your speed than souvenir projects. Looks like we are all of the same mind in that regard! But what should I make? Maybe I’ll save it as theinspiration for my next travel knitting, wherever that may be.

Maine yarn

Maine yarn

6 comments so far

  1. Jodi on

    Now that’s my kind of math! I love the cowl neck on your mohair sweater. And the new collar on the Green Gable looks great!

  2. Julie on

    oh wow! I love your math for travelling and knitting, I’ll have to remember it myself. That mohair sweater is phenomenal! looks so much more appealing than the one in the magazine. And the snowy photo shoot- even better! those are some great fos.

  3. Kara on

    I never thought math could be hilarious! So funny. All your projects are amazing. And I love that knitting got a lady to hit on you. Classic!

  4. yoel on

    What a fun post! The sweater looks cozy and wonderful.

  5. Topherooni's Mom on

    Hey! We miss you at church! We need to get together before you go away to start “work”… BEAUTIFUL sweaters, btw!

  6. Anne on

    I love that mohair cowl sweater! I never even thought of something like that as a travel project.


Leave a Reply

