Holy cow, I made this

There are some things that just seem beyond make-ability. And yet I have often been surprised and delighted to discover that I’m wrong. Granola and yogurt, for example.

And trench coats–well coats in general–and certainly a man’s coat.

Scratch that–anything for Tom (he’s the DH, remember? Using a name is so freeing!) that will get worn outside the house, or at least outside his shoes.

Don’t get me wrong, Tom is incredibly supportive of me, almost to the point of being too supportive (if I have to ‘splain that it may require a separate post). But let’s be honest, the kinds of things I usually make don’t really blip on his radar.

Neither did this undertaking when I undertook it, to be honest. Well, it was scary for me too, to be very honest. I made this in September, and it has been in a closet waiting for buttonholes and buttons (and admittedly because it looked frumpy on the hanger and I was chicken.) But here it is! It fits! I did it!

Ladies and gents, meet Tom’s new trench coat:

DSC03721.JPG copy

Burda 7780

The fabric is something off the JoAnn’s clearance table. It is completely water repellent, and strangely crinkly. It didn’t take an ironing too happily, so we’re calling the look rugged, got it?

DSC03928.JPG

Half lining. But why? If I make this again I’ll just line the whole jacket. The half lining makes no sense. But I did get to do Hong Kong finishing on the seams which was great fun.

DSC03925.JPG

How did I make these splendid keyhole buttonholes on my old Singer, you ask? Ah, that secret too will soon be revealed.

DSC03924.JPG

It’s ok, take a moment to admire my welt pockets. I even practiced because the fabric was so unforgiving, and I couldn’t be more proud of them.

DSC03723.JPG copy

(Now, I realize that this whole post may be extremely off-putting as it tiptoes into the realm of self-horn-tootage. But I’m ok with that. First off, I’m pretty proud to have finally made something for my husband that he really likes! And second, I have a 6 month old. I accomplish approximately 2.3 things a day, and if one of those is the dishes life looks grand. If not, well, this sewing success will have to sustain me as my long-lost glory days.)

7 comments so far

  1. carla on

    I’m super-impressed!

  2. Jackie on

    Self-horn tootage is totally justified 🙂 Very very impressive, not even factoring in the baby (which makes it almost a miracle, really.)

    Way to go!!!

  3. Kara on

    Holy cow, indeed! That is way impressive and totally rugged. It looks so manly chic.

  4. Erin on

    You need to toot your horn even louder. Seriously, I am in awe of your sewing skills. SO impressive. The coat looks amazing!

  5. Emily on

    I think that’s great! Coats can be really difficult to sew, and it looks like you did a fabulous job!

  6. k on

    hey weren’t you just saying i was justified in tooting my own horn? i think you are too – this is very impressive.

  7. Helen on

    It’s a great raincoat. Well done!


Leave a Reply

