Pretend Monday

First, a question for you. I was in my favorite fabric store last week and saw a brown linen with a kind of coppery shimmer to it. Ooo, I thought, that would make a cool jacket for spring. Like this one. Now given that I am a teensy bit fashion challenged (I exaggerate. I’m actually quite fashion challenged) and generally averse to wearing fabrics that sparkle, I thought it might be best to ask you guys before I bought shimmery, nay, sheen-y fabric. So what do you think?

Well, now down to the bad news: my first chance to keep a schedule on the blog, and I blew it. The good news is that I only blew it according to the calendar that the rest of the world follows. In my head, since I got so little accomplished yesterday I am declaring today Pretend Monday, and thus am right on schedule.

Lest you think I am being flippant with dates, my inspiration came from the dear old Ohio State University–excuse me, the dear old THE Ohio State University. (Speaking of which, you are entirely responsible for breaking my bracket early on, OSU. But I suppose since I filled it out alphabetically I’m not that surprised.) Back to the story…one winter quarter was only nine weeks long because of an early Easter. So the first Friday of the quarter was declared “Productive Monday” or something like that in order that we had an extra Monday of class, presumably because there are more classes on Mondays than on Fridays. I’ve always felt that with that declaration the university higher-ups finally acknowledged that most Mondays are, in fact, not productive.

If you’re still reading, then perhaps I have managed to distract you from the fact that I missed my Monday post. The irony of the missed post is that I have exactly zero sewing goals for this week. I’ve got some friends coming in to town (Hi Carla & Julie!), and coupled with that I’m basically rearranging my entire yucky apartment to try to make it a little bit accommodating to guests. So goodbye, Singer, hello scrub brush!

I’ll make it up to you with some pictures of Grace’s Easter outfit in a few days, how ’bout that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

