Jeans, as worn today (and probably every day from here on out)

Well, my intention to get a good photo shoot turned into “run up to the street and grab a few shots while the babe is napping.” But here they are, as worn.

DSC05201.JPG

A few things I love:

-the cost. I spent less than an hour cutting and around five hours sewing. The fabric was about $5/yd for a total of $10, the zipper was $0.35, thread was a few bucks each for yellow & blue but I will use them again, the pocket lining, well if I link to this post you’ll know it was basically free, and the jeans-style button was part of a pack of 6 for $1.50. Oh, and the pattern was I think $12, but this is the fourth time I’ve made it, so we’re down to $3 a pair.In other words, for around 15 bucks I have jeans that I love to wear.

And really, these took not a great deal more time than it would take for me to go to Target (let’s be honest here), find a pair of jeans on the rack that looks like it should be worn by Someone My Age, try them on, *turn 50 times in the mirror while squinting to try to convince myself that they look ok,* go get the next size up, repeat from * to *, go back to get the original size and decide what the heck, throw them in the cart, get groceries and wander the whole blasted store looking for whatever item is not where I think it should be (because that always happens to me at Target), find something else I didn’t know I needed, check out, get home, try them on for Tom, and finally repeat from * to * again. I’m not that vain, but maybe I am.

-these are the low rise version, and yet they still cover everything when I sit down. Amazing!

-I cut my waistband straight instead of on the bias. I’m going to do this from now on, because it fits really well whereas the other two pair stretched out during the day.

-Bonus of making jeans: now I am excited to see how they will wear in a month or two.

DSC05204.JPG

-this backside shot is not the greatest. (It can’t be my backside that’s the problem, though, can it?) I think they are better than they look here.

Thanks for all of your comments & support! I will be happy to cheer for you, should you decide to join me on the dark side of making jeans. If there’s anything I can tell you to help you decide to take the plunge, just let me know!

DSC05203.JPG

6 comments so far

  1. Octopus Knits on

    Wow! That is seriously cool! The jeans look great on you.

  2. kristin on

    Those are AMAZING! I’m so freaked out about making pants. Yours are so inspiring!

  3. CGCouture on

    I have mine all cut out and ready to sew, so I’m glad for (even more) positive reinforcement that these jeans are fabulous. I cut my waistband on the bias, but I’ll probably need all the stretch I can get. Right now I’m trying to figure out what kind of cool design to put on my pockets–if only I had an embroidery machine….*sigh* 😉

  4. Kara on

    Amazing! They are such a good shape. Totally look look professional.

  5. Claire on

    They look great! By the way, would you mind sharing what type of sewing machine you have?

    Thanks!

  6. girlwhoknits on

    They look SO great. I love the fit and like Kara said, they look professional–like you bought them in a store. A really nice store of course.


Leave a comment