Swirl socks for Mom and MIL…and you?

I made socks! I really like them! I wrote down how I did it in case you like them too Click for a PDF of Revised Swirl socks instructions!

ETA: Check out my “patterns” page for a revised version with a smaller file size and instructions for using the Wendyknits.net gusset and heel!! I’m very grateful to Wendy of Wendyknits for giving me permission to post the numbers for using her toe-up gussets & heels with the Swirl socks!

Enough with the exclamation points already, but you have to understand that this is not the kind of thing I do every day. I do tend to “make up” a lot of my knitting, but generally it is on the fly and rarely do I take notes. Even more rare is the effort of making those notes legible to others. Please let me know if you try it, you like it, or if I can improve it in any way!

This all came about when my Cider Moon ladies had two colorways in Glacier that were perfect for my mom and my MIL, both of whom have summer birthdays. The yarn is so beautiful (and so squishy), but you may recall that I just couldn’t settle on the perfect pattern to show off the DK weight and rich colors with some pizzazz. With these swirls, the colors get showcased but don’t detract from the beauties of the simple stockinette.
The “pattern” is really more like a stitch pattern–as far as heels and toes go, I usually just do whatever Wendy does, and didn’t feel right simply rehashing her instructions so I didn’t include any. I did do the heel decreases with k2tog and ssp instead of ssk and p2tog on the Apple Crisp sock (below), but that’s just personal preference. Short row toes & heels are always winners, and there are several other toe-up variations out there (widdershins, maia’s version, Miriam’s advice), or you can check out other socks on Cider Moon’s website for guidance. Oh, and also in case you are interested, here’s my new favorite toe-up cast on: Judy’s knotless magic cast on.

specs: Cider Moon “Glacier” in Pistachio (above) and Apple Crisp (below); size 2 and size 1 needles

45 comments so far

  1. yarnzombie on

    Absolutely stunning! This is the total kick in the butt I needed to force myself to learn how to do toe-up socks. Great job!

  2. Kara on

    Fabbity fab! I think you have a future at this… 😉

  3. Erin on

    Wow! Those are awesome. Amazing job!

  4. madelinetosh on

    those are great! it is a perfect combo to show off the yarn and the simple stockinette. i must get some of that apple crisp!

  5. margene on

    They look great! How fun.

  6. laura on

    Beautiful! Now I have a plan for all that Glacier in my stash! 🙂

  7. Julie on

    You know, I just bought a skein of pistachio at Knitter’s Connection to make socks to match my handspun “pistachotis” scarf and I’m totally going to use this pattern – Thank You So Much! Jacki is correct: you rock!

  8. sarah lou on

    you know i’m so doing a pair of these. maybe andromeda??

  9. Suzanne on

    thanks for the pattern! I’ve queued it in ravelry!

  10. Gina on

    These are lovely! I’m still searching for a “not-Monkey” sock pattern to use for my Sockapalooooza socks. Jackie O isn’t quite as multi coloured, but I still think it would look great in this pattern.

  11. Karen in Toledo on

    I’m learning toe-ups now, baby! These are amazing! WTG, girl. 🙂

  12. […] Categories: Weaving, Online shop, Yarn.eta – Oh, I almost forgot! Go check out Sulafaye’s post here. Seriously. Go right now. She’s created awesome toe-up swirly socks using Glacier. And […]

  13. Ronni on

    Wow! Those are gorgeous! I’m glad I saw the pointer from Cider Moon. I’ve been looking for something just like this to knit some of the more colorful sock yarns I have. So many knit patterns seem to mess with the colors too much to me.

    Thank you so much for posting this.

  14. […] – Have you checked out Sulafaye’s awesome swirl socks yet?  No?  What the heck are you waiting for?! no comments yet. « The post about weaving! […]

  15. Dave on

    Very cool — thanks so much for sharing this pattern!

  16. carla on

    There goes my vauge intention to finish a pair of socks before starting another; I must cast on for these straight away!

  17. Hattie on

    These are awesome! I saw Sarah Lou’s and knew I had to make them!

  18. Lia on

    Beautiful pattern!

    One quick question:
    in this post, it says size 1 and 2 needles, but in the pdf it calls for 3 and 4. Which is correct?

  19. sulafaye on

    Just in case anyone else wonders this too, I am a notoriously loose knitter, and tend to use a needle 2-3 sizes smaller than patterns. I recommend a size 4 in the pattern because that seems to be a common size for getting the gauge I liked, but as always, do it how it works for you!

  20. […] and 1’s…lol), I’m chomping at the bit to start a new pair. There’s the Swirl Socks, Beatrix, Titania’s Revenge, and I’ve been wanting to buy both Winter’s Eve, and […]

  21. done and done! at nicomara on

    […] so meet swirl socks =) pattern here found on blog here […]

  22. […] Swirl Socks are also […]

  23. […] My Swirl Socks with Lavendersheep Superwash Sock in my custom “Peninah” colourway. I hope I have […]

  24. Jeanie on

    beautiful, and the pistachio is very pretty! glad i found your site (google) now i know what color i am buying for a swap partner 🙂

  25. […] WIP that is being removed from the list is an easy choice. I got past the heel on my Swirl Sock and realized that the foot is too narrow with this needle size (1.5s). I also made a few mistakes […]

  26. Arleta on

    Ooh, those look so great. Another have to knit pattern for my list.

  27. […] pairs of socks and I’ve started on the next pair. I finished E’s socks and my wonderful swirl socks of Lavendersheep’s yarn. I still have yarn left! PG has begged me to make her something so […]

  28. Debbie on

    These are really cute! Super job! Now, off to the pattern. . . .

  29. turvid on

    Great socks! I have made my own pair. Thank you for the pattern. 🙂

  30. Karen Lauterwasser on

    Smashing socks and smashing yarn. Any idea what it going on at Cider Moon? Their pages seem to all be off line.

  31. nattugla on

    This is a pair of socks I want to knit ! I have put them on my to do list. Thank very much for sharing!

  32. peony67 on

    I was searcing for some simple pattern to work with my orange sherbet yarn, and this is IT. I love knitting toes up (In fact I can hardly think why would anyone do them differently, it eliminates all those worries about if the yarn will be enough, or those tiny leftover balls)and short row heels and heels… perfect!

  33. […] Just have to decide what to do with it? Some kind of socks, but which ones? I’m thinking Swirl socks. But I would have to modify it, because I would never be able to get […]

  34. […] am, however, determined to try all of the different ways of how to knit a sock, and this pattern (Swirl Socks by Sulafaye), required learning how to knit toe-up. After some frustration trying to learn […]

  35. […] Swirl Socks, by […]

  36. […] the color repeats. They’re too long. So I’m going to end up with a pair of mostly green swirl socks. Sigh. Oh, well. I guess that’s what experimenting is for. Figuring things […]

  37. […] latest and greatest pair to fly off my needles are some nice Swirl Socks in Scarlett O’Hara, gradient dyed on a sock blank. I originally intended these babies to have […]

  38. […] also have my needles working on a pair of Swirl Socks with my recently aquired Conjoined Creations Flat Feet sock yarn. I found this color at Big Sky […]

  39. […] Spaghetti Sport in Tumultuous, because the colors are great, and because the Swirl Socks pattern I want to knit is written for sportweight yarn. And because I’d already fallen down […]

  40. Wool For Brains » Knitting, blah on

    […] be off the needles and back into the yarn drawer. It is a variant on the “Swirl socks ” pattern, reworked for 68 stitches and different to the original as I was paying too much attention to the […]

  41. […] socks gibt es bei suala als pdf […]

  42. done and done! « ezmé on

    […] so meet swirl socks =) pattern here found on blog here […]

  43. […] & pooling changed after the heel (knit them toe up).  I used the stitch pattern only from the Swirl Socks pattern. I knit the socks from the toe up, two at once on the magic loop, with a short row heel.  […]

  44. […] deets:  Fibre – All Spun Up BFL.  Spun – 3-ply.  Pattern –  Swirl Socks (though I modified the pattern to 60 stitches, […]

  45. Et Voilà! | Knitosphere on

    […] are the Swirl Socks by Sulala and I’m knitting them in some Shelridge Farm Ultra. This is my first time knitting […]


Leave a comment